Directorate and executive committee

Mike Hankinson

Age: 67


Independent non-executive chairman

Appointed 15 December 2009

Mike took over as chairman of Grindrod Limited in 2014 having been appointed as a non-executive director in 2009. He is the current chairman of the Spar Group Limited and is a former non-executive director of numerous listed and unlisted companies including Dunlop Tyres International Proprietary Limited and Romatex Limited.

Alan Olivier

Age: 56


Executive director and CEO

Appointed 27 May 1999

Chairman of Grindrod Bank Limited and director of major local and international subsidiaries and associates. Chairman of the United Kingdom Mutual Steamship Assurance Association Limited (P&I Club).

Alan was employed in 1986 in the Shipping division and held senior treasury and financial positions before his appointment as CEO of Unicorn Shipping in 1995. He was appointed to the board of directors of Grindrod Limited in 1999 and as the CEO of Grindrod Limited in 2007.

Hassen Adams

Age: 64

Pr Tech Eng (Civil Engineering)

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 1 December 2000

Hassen is a consulting engineer, executive chairman of Grand Parade Investment Limited and non-executive chairman of SunWest.

He holds directorships in diverse industry sectors including construction, gaming, shipping, entertainment and leisure and has extensive experience in corporate finance.

Hassen was voted EY’s South African Exceptional Entrepreneur for 2014.

Mkhuseli Faku

Age: 50

BA (Law-Rhodes University); MAP (Wits Business School); OPM (Harvard Business School)

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 15 December 2009

Group executive chairman and founder of Calulo Investments Proprietary Limited and director of various Calulo group companies.

Mkhuseli has extensive experience in the South African oil and logistics sectors and serves on the boards of Total South Africa and Rhodes University.

Walter Geach

Age: 62

Advocate; BA LLB; MCom; CA(SA); FCIS

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 29 July 2008

Advocate of the High Court of South Africa, a senior professor at the University of the Western Cape and a non-executive director of Grindrod Bank Limited.

Walter’s areas of specialisation are financial accounting, taxation, corporate governance, business and financial services.

Grant Gelink

Age: 67

BCompt (Hons); BCom (Hons); CA(SA); HDip Education; Dip Public Administration

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 1 January 2013

Non-executive director of Altron Limited, MTN Zhakele Limited, First Rand Limited and Santam Limited.

Grant has had extensive work experience with Deloitte & Touche which spans over 26 years and he served as chief executive from 2006 until his retirement from the firm in 2012.

Gerhard Kotze

Age: 47


Alternate non-executive director

Appointed 1 August 2016

Managing executive of Brimstone Investment Corporation. Gerhard has experience in corporate finance, treasury and investment evaluations, at Nedbank Capital, Brait SA, Wipcapital and Anglo American Corporation of South Africa.

Gerhard is alternate to Mkhuseli Faku.

Zola Malinga

Age: 39


Independent non-executive director

Appointed 24 October 2016

Co-founder and executive director of Jade Capital Partners.

Zola has experience in corporate finance, investments and debt and equity finance at the real estate division of Standard Bank, Investec Bank and the Liberty group.

She serves as non-executive director and a member of the audit committee of Hospitality Property Fund Limited and Sasol Inzalo.

Raymond Ndlovu

Age: 50

B Business Studies (Hons)

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 27 May 2016

Raymond has 27 years experience in various fields in the financial services industry.

In 2013 Raymond joined Invenfin, the venture investment division of Remgro as an investment executive, before being re-assigned to Remgro in July 2015.

He serves in a non-executive capacity on the boards of several Remgro investee companies and as an independent director of Strate Limited.

Bongiwe Ntuli

Age: 39


Executive director

Appointed 20 August 2015

Director of major local subsidiary companies and associates, including Grindrod Bank Limited, Grindrod (South Africa) Proprietary Limited, Oiltanking Grindrod Calulo Proprietary Limited and Röhlig-Grindrod Proprietary Limited. Bongiwe joined Freight Services in May 2008 as CFO after holding various positions within Anglo American.

She was appointed to the Grindrod Executive as Executive Corporate Services in 2012, as CEO Port, Terminals and Rail in 2014 and CEO Freight Services in 2016.

David Polkinghorne

Age: 52

BCom; MA (Oxon)

Executive director

Appointed 22 November 2006

Managing director of Grindrod Bank Limited and executive director of all the Financial Services Division group companies. Director of companies and trustee of various charitable trusts and foundations. Chairman of the Grindrod Pension and Grindrod Provident Funds.

David has been involved in the financial services sector for more than 25 years. He has had exposure to all areas of corporate and investment banking and, in particular, has extensive experience in commercial property finance, private equity and corporate finance.

He has 17 years service with the group.

Nkululeko Sowazi

Age: 53


Independent non-executive director

Appointed 25 February 2014

Chairman of KTH, a leading SA investment holding company, Tiso Investment Holdings and Synchem Group Limited, a chemicals holding company, Nkululeko is a director of MTN Group Limited, Vanguard Group Limited (Ghana), Tiso Blackstar Group SE (UK) and IQ Business Holdings.

Pieter Uys

Age: 54

MSc (Engineering); MBA

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 30 August 2013

Director of major local and international companies and also serves on the Remgro Management Board. Pieter is a former CEO of Vodacom Limited.

Martyn Wade

Age: 57

Executive director

Appointed 16 November 2011

CEO of Grindrod Shipping Pte Limited, director of UK Freight Demurrage & Defence Association and a member of the Singapore Maritime Foundation Advisory Panel. Martyn has 39 years’ international shipping experience and has worked for shipowners, operators and brokers in London, Johannesburg, New York and Singapore. Martyn was a member of the original Baltic Exchange for 10 years. He has eight years’ service with the group.

Andrew Waller

Age: 54


Executive director and CFO

Appointed 1 March 2011

Director of local and international subsidiaries. Andrew was previously a partner of Deloitte & Touche for 15 years during which time he was responsible for a number of South African listed companies. He has six years’ service with the group.

Sandile Zungu

Age: 50

BSc (Mechanical Engineering); MBA

Independent non-executive director

Appointed 15 December 2009

Executive chairman and founding member of Zungu Investments Proprietary Limited and chairman of EOH Holdings Limited.

Sandile serves on the Presidential Advisory Council on Black Economic Empowerment and was a member of the World Economic Forum in his capacity as Young Global Leader.

Go to the top